Back to News

Highlighting the outstanding commitment to nephrology

Between the talks and debates at the recent World Congress of Nephrology, the ISN awards were handed out to those who have made exceptional contributions to nephrology.

All generations were nominated including younger nephrologists from all regions of the world. Here is a roundup of the winners who were given their prizes at the congress in Mexico City.

Alfred Newton Richards Award

Friedhelm Hildebrandt received the 2017 Alfred Newton Richards Award for his outstanding basic research in fields relevant to nephrology. He is the Warren E. Grupe Prof. of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School, the chief of the division of nephrology of Boston Children’s Hospital (USA) and a former investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. His research is focused on the identification and functional characterization of recessive single-gene causes of chronic kidney disease.

ISN Bywaters Award

Raúl Lombardi is the recipient of the ISN Bywaters Award for outstanding contributions to the understanding of acute kidney injury (AKI). His dedication to the treatment of AKI started already as a medical student in Montevideo (Uruguay) 1966. Seven years later he became head of the largest intensive care unit in Uruguay, IMPASA, from which he retired in 2014. (No photo currently available)

Jean Hamburger Award

Stanley Jordan, Director of the Division of Nephrology, Medical Director Kidney Transplant Program and Medical Director Human Leukocyte Antigen and Transplant Immunology Laboratory at Cedars-Sinai and Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA was hounored with the Jean Hamburger Award for outstanding research in nephrology with a clinical emphasis. His groundbreaking research in transplant immunology led to the development of a drug therapy protocol that significantly reduces the risk of a transplanted kidney being rejected.

Lilian Jean Kaplan International Prize

The Lilian Jean Kaplan International Prize for the advancement and understanding of polycystic kidney disease (PKD) was given to David Beier, University of Washington (USA), and Ronald Perrone, Prof. of Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston (USA).

Young Nephrologists

Daniela Anne Braun, MD, postdoctoral research fellow in the division of nephrology at Boston Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School (USA) and Maria Castaneda-Bueno, Mexico City (Mexico) were honored with the Young Nephrologists Best Basic Science Abstract. Two colleagues were honored with the Young Nephrologists Best Clinical Abstract: Hannah Brand, Berlin (Germany), Viviane Calice da Silva, Joinville (Brazil).

Roscoe R. Robinson Award

Prof. Mignon McCulloch, pediatric nephrologist and consultant in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit at Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital in Cape Town (South Africa) received the Roscoe R. Robinson Award for outstanding contributions in the field of education in nephrology.

All photos, courtesy of Sebastien Assoignons

Help us advance kidney health worldwide
Join the ISN
Back to News